On 15th of October 2016, which marked the 85th birth anniversary of Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, the first and pioneering edition of the Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Memorial Summit on Innovation and Governance was organized in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi where several civil service officers, NGOs, members of the media and academia participated, all dedicated to the task of governance and its dimensions.

Some of the prominent awardees were Shri K. Srinivas, IAS ( Joint Managing Director, Narmada Valley Project), Shri Ashwani Lohani (Director, Air India), Shri Kumar Keshav (Managing Director, Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation), Akshay Patra Foundation, Shri Mahesh Gupta (Founder & Chairman, Kent RO Systems), Shri Anurag Batra (Chairman & Editor-in-Chief, Exchange4media group) and Shri Jayant Krishna (Chief Executive Officer, National Skill Development Corporation).

Dr. Ashok Patil being felicitated with KIGA 2016